To file for a marriage license in the state of Louisiana:
1. You need not be a resident of the state.
2. Either the bride or groom can file on behalf of the other unless you are filing for a Covenant Marriage, which requires both the bride and groom to file in person together.
3. The bride and the groom must be 18 years of age to obtain the marriage license without parental consent. If the bride or groom is 16-18 years of age, both parents must appear in person with the applicant.
1. Marriage License Application from Clerk of Court. Jefferson Parish marriage license application can be found at: www.jpclerkofcourt.us/Forms/marriagelicenseapp.pdf.
2. Picture ID such as Driver’s License for EACH applicant.
3. Certified copy of birth certificate for EACH applicant.
4. Social Security number, parent’s names, mother’s maiden name, and state of birth for EACH applicant.
5. If either applicant is divorced or widowed, the applicant must provide a certified copy of divorce judgment or a death certificate which provides the applicant’s name as a surviving spouse.
6. There are no medical/blood test requirements in the state of Louisiana.
1. The fees vary by parish, but typically average around $25.00. Check with your Clerk of Court in advance to learn the fee in your parish. Please note that some parishes only accept cash.
Marriage License Validity:
1. A Louisiana marriage license is valid in any parish in Louisiana for a period of 30 days from the date of issuance. There is a 72-hour waiting period between the time of issuance of the license and the wedding ceremony.
After the Wedding:
1. Order a certified copy of the marriage license two weeks after the marriage to ensure that the license has been returned and recorded. You may need to order a few extra copies if you are deciding to change your name. Request forms for Jefferson Parish Certified marriage license copies can be found at: www.jpclerkofcourt.us/Forms/MarrCopyRequest.pdf.
Click The Link Below To View Marriage License Filing Locations:
As marriage license filing laws can change at any time; we suggest that you always check with the Clerk of Court in your parish for filing instructions.